Venison curry with citrus and pomegranate.

Himself didn’t care for it much.

He said it was “sweet and sour and all over the place”.

I thought it was lovely!

Here’s how it came about and roughly how it went.

I may leave out some detail….

Lidl were selling bags of blood oranges and I saw a big fat pomegranate for a quid.

Had to have them!

A rare treat and a possible perfect match for my shoulder of venison.

One shoulder was slightly damaged, so I had taken it off the bone and trimmed it to slightly larger than mouthful size pieces.

I softened a couple of shallots and added grated garlic and ginger with diced chilli and some lemon and orange zest.

Stirred in some Garam Masala and let the spices soften.

Added the pieces of venison and browned until delicious looking.

Added a dear little bit of stock and cooked until the venison was getting tender – about 45 minutes with a lid on – and off – and on – poking all the while, because I couldn’t leave it alone.

Then added some quartered, skinned tomatoes, enough to allow plenty of juice.

Once they had softened, I left it to bubble a little more until the sauce was thick and juicy looking.

I added some orange segments, peeled, skin and pith off. Then, tasted again and added a small spoon of honey and a scant teaspoon of vanilla essence. Daring, but nice, I thought.

Bubbled a bit and added at the last minute some chopped coriander.

The final touch was the pomegranate seeds.

Sprinkled over the whole plate, they looked delicious and gave a sweet and sour bite of juice to each mouthful.

I ate mine.

Then I ate what he left.

I’ll never cook it again – it’s only fun to cook when your cooking is enjoyed.

But I’ll remember that one!

On my list of meals I have done well!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Venison curry with citrus and pomegranate.

  1. Oh my word I’m a reformed veggie & slavering at the mouth reading your recipe!! How lovely that the deer was treated with such respect – it feels to me as though she offered herself up to you guys but perhaps I’m being fanciful? Thanks for sharing though-I’m inspired! Ali xx

    • Thank you Ali!
      At this time of year, there are quite a lot of deer killed on our road. It is sad to see. I like to see them best on the heathland. That said…. since the first one I ‘dealt with’ and used every single piece of meat and bone, I feel fine about putting a carcass to use. We share with neighbours, the dogs get their share, so nothing is wasted. I should add, that we are very careful to only take the freshly killed animals. We do treat them with respect and are thankful.

      • Oh, forgot to mention, after I posted the recipe, I remembered I had omitted two small but important ingredients, which I have now added to the original script – honey and vanilla!

      • Ahh….and where does the honey & vanilla come into this delist recipe? I am going to give it a go one day;))

      • Ali, I hope you do have a go! Add it when you add the orange segments. Venison is so expensive, though, and hard to find in some areas. I think this would work with lamb, but I wouldn’t add the sweetness, if so.

Leave a Reply

